It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas!

Wohooo we are nearly at the end of the semester and christmas is upon us! I was bit sceptical about spending Christmas in Manchester as its the first time I’ve been away from my family during the festive period BUT I had no need to worry! Amongst essay submissions and Chinese oral exams I have managed to visit the christmas markets, go ice skating and even attend a masquerade ball! Oh the student life!

The Manchester Christmas marketsxmas 2

Amazing and worth a visit for sure. Coming from a small village in Cornwall the biggest event we have is the Church Christmas Fair, so for me, the Christmas markets are very exciting. You can find so much variety there from Jewellery and decoration stalls to food stands selling homemade crepes, Bailey’s hot chocolate, and chocolate macaroons!

 

 

Spinningfields Ice Rinkxmas 3

Its a bit of a trek from Piccadilly Gardens but the walk is definitely worth it! The rink only costs £8 for students so a good option for christmassy night out without breaking the bank! They even have their own radio station, and who doesn’t love a bit of Justin Beiber blazing out whilst you attempt to be skating pro?!  If skating isn’t your forte, they have the push along penguins too so there is really no excuse not to have a go!

 

Whitworth Park Masquerade Ball

Last Wednesday the committee at my accommodation organised a Masquerade Ball at the Midland Hotel-  About 250 of us attended so it was a brilliant evening. A 3 course meal was followed by entertainment consisting of Lee Nelson and songs played by the University brass band! It was really lovely to celebrate the end of the first semester with everyone. University is hard, you have down days and the work can sometimes get too much but its nights like this one that help you put everything into perspective and remember that all the hard work will hopefully one day pay off!

Although my December in Manchester has been pretty good, the month didn’t start quite as I had imagined. I was walking back from the gym one evening, getting a bit too into Michael Buble and unfortunately slipped resulting in a sprained ankle, trip to A&E and lots of painkillers to numb the pain! After a week on crutches and my flat mate doubling as my career and Chief bag carrier I have now made an (almost) full recovery. Although I think I may have to put iceskating (and nights out) on hold for a while!

Leave a Reply

