The AU Executive Committee

The Athletic Union (AU) is the umbrella term for the University of Manchester sports teams, competing against other Universities in BUCS (British University and College Sports). The AU consists of 87 teams across 36 sports, separated into 42 different sports clubs and the focus is about representing the University of Manchester in competitive sport.

The Executive Committee head up the Athletic Union and consist of the following posts:

  • Sport Sabbatical Office (SSO)
  • Events Officer
  • BUCS Wednesday Officer
  • Events Based Sports Representative (BUCS)
  • Communications Officer

The roles are elected at the Summer AGM and these blogs aim to give you an insight into what each of the roles entail.

Perry - sport guest blogPerry Wilson

Executive Communications Officer

Men’s Rugby Union Athletic Union (AU) Club

What does the position involve?

A little less defined than the other roles, the position involves liaising with all clubs where required and ensuring regular contact between them and the AU. It can be as simple as helping out at SPORT Manchester events to aiding promotion, publishing and editing  a variety of media from match reports to Varsity flyers. This year Poppy (my counterpart) and I also strived to boost participation through the implementation of an AU-wide sign-on database so that over 1000 more students could be kept informed of sporting opportunities at UoM.

What attracted you apply for the position?

All of the exec roles are a chance to really make a difference to university sport and plays an important part for all those involved in the AU (3,500+ student). The Comms role in particular utilises the knowledge I’ve gained over three years of being here and is flexible in the jobs I get involved in. Plus it’s yet another chance to meet such a diverse and motivated set of sports people whom I hope to deal with again in the future – my network has grown tenfold!

What have you enjoyed most about being part of the Exec team?

Working with such talented people and really feeling like I play an important role in something I’m passionate about is great. Sport is something I’ve always done since a young age and so to get involved in sports I’ve never encountered before is something I love doing.

What skills do you feel you have developed in this role?

Teamwork, leadership and communication – the big three! I can honestly say that this role has pushed my ability to collaborate and effectively manage my time above and beyond what I could have expected. It has been fundamental to receiving the job offers that I have and I’m so thankful that I had the opportunity to undertake it.

What advice would you have for anyone wanting to apply for your position?

Go for it! You’ll get so much out of it and it really is a fantastic experience to present to future employers too. Even when I’ve been stressed with other academic deadlines, the support from SPORT Manchester staff is second to none. This is a chance to know you really made the most of your university years. Take your time with the application and then give it all you’ve got; let everyone know why you’ve got what it takes – it will be worth it!

Favourite Purple and Proud moment?

For me it was walking onto the field in the Rugby Varsity. The feeling of a crowd of 4,000 people, the majority of which being UoM students, cheering you on is something I’ll never forget. I don’t think people realise the amount of effort that goes in to such an event and having played my part in it makes the victory even sweeter #purpleandproud.

For further information please go to http://www.sport.manchester.ac.uk/sport/athleticunion/.

Leave a Reply

