Happy New Year!

Welcome to 2015 everyone!

I just flew back to Manchester last night after a lovely Christmas break spent back home in Mumbai. Time flew by so quickly what with meeting all my friends and being bombarded by my mum with food every hour that I’m still very much in the holiday phase and refuse to acknowledge that exams are just around the corner. I had originally planned to get some revision done but honestly, three weeks is a much shorter time period than I realized! Exams and work seemed so far away when I was lazing around in sunny Mumbai, but now that I’m back the tension is definitely starting to creep in.

Speaking of the sun, what is going on with the weather here in Manchester? TWO sunny days in a row?! It must be the beginning of the Apocalypse haha. My friends sent me pictures of the first snow here in Manchester and several people had warned me about how chilly it gets so I must say this is a lovely surprise and I definitely hope it continues.

My first exam is on the 12th, so I’m currently knee-deep in revision. It’s a good thing that my halls are currently half-empty right now what with everyone else still being away on vacation, so I can use the library because I may be a first-year but I’m definitely not naïve enough to search for an empty spot in Ali G this close to exams.

New Year’s was pretty low-key this year, since I wasn’t really in the mood to go out. In the end, a bunch of my friends came over for dinner and drinks and somehow ended up staying till about 10 am the next day. It was great to finally catch up with them and we even had a make-shift karaoke set up and to those of you who don’t know me; karaoke is my one true love. There is a video of me somewhere drunkenly singing along to Bohemian Rhapsody and I hope to dear God nobody finds it. But all in all, not a bad way to ring in the end of 2014.

One of the major highlights of my trip was the Christmas Dinner I had with my family. We went to this place called Masala Library which specializes in making Indian food with a quirky twist. Being the foodie I am, this place had been on my wish-list for ages and we never seemed to get a reservation (yeah, it is really fancy) so I was stoked to finally get to eat there. The dinner was not only delicious but also interesting which is not a word commonly used in describing food. Before every course, the server would explain what the dish is, how it was made and it was a treat to see seemingly everyday food presented in a completely different manner.

Look how pretty the food is!

Mitali - christmas food Mitali - christmas food 1

I also managed to go to the Mumbai Comic-Con, which although it’s not as big as the original San Diego one, was still a pretty cool experience. They had a Q&A with Mark Gatiss (!!) and a Skype session with Steven Moffat which was amazing and very informative. I also managed to win a Doctor Who poster for my younger sister (who is a huge fan) by answering some trivia questions.

Mark Gatiss at the Q&A

Mitali - Mark Gatiss

Random guy cosplaying as Darth Vader

Mitali - Darth Vader

On the accommodation side, things aren’t really doing so well. We (me and some of my friends) still have to find a place to live next year, and with the deadlines approaching quickly, we have to make a decision fast. There is a whole list of obstacles what with everyone seeming to have some problem or another with the places that we saw and one of them suddenly backing out and some thinking about staying in university accommodation next year. This is turning out to be much more complicated than I thought, and once exams finish, I have to get this all sorted out or else I might end just end up having to live in the Learning Commons!

In other, totally unrelated news, I’m also thinking of getting a part-time job of some sort. I don’t exactly know how I’ll be able to cope with it on top of my course-work and since I have lectures almost every day, I won’t be able to give much time to it. But I’ve been thinking about this for a while now, and there’s so many students who balance both uni and work so there’s no reason why I shouldn’t be able to. Maybe I’ll look for something within the University itself since I’m sure they’d be used to students working for flexible hours.

That’s all from me for now. January is shaping up to be a very busy month and I will see you all on the other side of exams, weary and battle-hardened but hopefully still very much alive!

Leave a Reply

