Essays, hiking & birthdays!

It’s been a while since I’ve blogged due to the amount of work I’ve had, but nevertheless, I’m back again!

I mentioned in my last post that I was going to see my favourite artist, Wakey! Wakey!, but unfortunately I came down with gastroenteritis which lasted about a week, so I had to miss it! I was devastated, but I’m sure there’ll be another opportunity to see him in the future. I’ve actually had quite a bad few weeks with illnesses; once I’d got over the viral infection, I managed to come down with a throat infection and then a cold. Thankfully, I’m feeling much better now and I hope that’ll be my lot for this year!

I also went on a hike with my friend Emily and the University’s hiking society in Keswick a few weeks ago. I must say that I personally hated every second of it as I’m not one for much walking, plus the weather was horrific on the day, but everyone else that went along really enjoyed themselves, so I’d really encourage anyone that likes hiking to go along on one of the upcoming trips!

Shannon - hiking

Yesterday was my boyfriend’s 20th birthday, so I surprised him by booking a table at Gusto in Didsbury for the two of us and both of our families. He really wasn’t expecting anyone else to be there, so it was a great surprise and we all had a fabulous night! Last night was the second time I’ve been to Gusto and I’d say it’s definitely worth going to at least once; the food is absolutely gorgeous, and it’s quite a fancy restaurant, too, so there’s a great atmosphere.

Aside from all of that, I’ve really not been up to that much besides uni work. I had an essay due in for my English Literature module at the beginning of the month, which unfortunately coincided with my viral infection, so I managed to get a deadline extension through mitigating circumstances and finally got the essay submitted! Even though it took a while because I was so under the weather, it was quite a nice essay to write as I was really interested in the topic (the representation of ambition in The Tempest and Doctor Faustus). I’m not too sure when I’ll get my grade back for it, though, because I’m not sure whether my seminar leader is part of the unions taking part in the assessment boycott.

A great way to wind down and recover from my sickness was having an amazing full body hot stone massage with my mum last week. It’s been a while since I’ve had a massage and I definitely felt like I needed it! Also, I’m currently having a course of microdermabrasion to target the acne scarring on my face. I had my second session yesterday and my final one will be on Friday when I have another massage. I’m already starting to see the difference to my skin with the treatment, so hopefully once the course has finished my skin will look a lot better!

I’ve definitely still got lots more work to do, so that’ll be it from me for this week. Tschüss!

Leave a Reply

