Back to the grind!

So it’s officially September and Welcome Week is looming around the corner. Manchester, prepare for an abundance of freshly churned out first years and freebies!

I’m almost certain that all of you first years reading this will be pretty nervous about moving into halls and beginning university, but from experience I know that there really is nothing to worry or be nervous about! Sure, moving all of your stuff into your new room might be a bit stressful, but meeting your new flatmates and going to the welcome week events makes up for it all.

I’m starting out as a peer mentor this year, so I’ll be meeting my mentees next week – it’s not just the first years that are nervous, I’m worried about meeting my mentees, too! Aside from that though, I’m really excited to get back to uni and start my new courses.

Anyway, last week I went to Dawlish in Devon for a week with my parents, boyfriend and dogs. We stayed in a static caravan, which wasn’t the best but the holiday overall was great! We were just a 20 minute walk from the beach, where me and my dad went fishing a couple of times and let the dogs have a good run around in the sea. My dad managed to catch 6 mackerel in one go on the first day, but unfortunately that was the only thing we managed to catch!

Shannon

 

My boyfriend and I also went to the National Marine Aquarium in Plymouth on Wednesday, which is supposedly the biggest aquarium in the UK, but it wasn’t that great, especially compared to Blue Planet in Chester. But, there were plenty of sting rays (my fave), so it was a successful day for me!

Shannon 1

The next day, we went to Paignton Zoo which was much better than the aquarium. It took about 4 hours to get around the whole zoo because we wanted to make sure we saw everything! The best bit was the lemur wood because the lemurs were actually out in the open with us rather than in an enclosure. The only downside was that we weren’t allowed to pet the lemurs!

Apart from preparing for uni, I’ve not got much planned for the next week apart from getting my new tattoo on Friday! I’ll post a picture of it in my next blog!

Leave a Reply

