Shannon’s Blog – 28 August 2014

Merry summer!

I’d like to say I’ve been very busy since my last post but really…. I haven’t. As I mentioned in my last blog, I went to T in the Park festival in July with my boyfriend and a bunch of friends – what an experience! I’ve been to festivals before, but this was the first time I had to make my own way there and find a camping space myself. In the previous years I arrived a day later than my friends and joined them where they’d set up camp. Well, the 5 and a half hour journey there was spent on a coach that had no air conditioning with the sun beating down through the windows. It was surprisingly easy to get through the queue to enter the campsite, even though we’d bought earlybird tickets and only 3 of 7 campsites were open. It took us about 2 and a half hours to find a camping spot big enough for all of us, and that was a stretch! From there on, though, things were pretty easy going and we had 3 days of lovely sun and only one day and night of rain. The atmosphere in the arena was great and the bands were amazing!

After the festival, I’ve just been relaxing and getting on with my online course (which was great!) Unfortunately, at the beginning of July, my dad had a minor heart attack which was obviously very worrying for me and my family. He’s currently got 6 weeks off work (he’ll do anything for a summer holiday) and is recovering and feeling a lot better.

About a week after that I went to Whinfell Forest Centerparcs with my mum, dad, boyfriend and my dogs. It was our first time at Centerparcs, and it was beautiful! The whole complex was in the middle of the forest with a nice lake in the middle and the village center and sports plaza not too far from the lake. We hired bikes for the 5 days we were there and booked in to do some field archery (great, but I was rubbish at it…), have a ride on Segways, and then me and my boyfriend went and played badminton one day, too, as well as going to the big swimming pool for a couple of days. It’s safe to say that we all got plenty of exercise, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to get away for a few days!

I moved into my new house nearly 2 weeks ago, although my 3 housemates aren’t moving in until September. It’s really nice and it’s great to have a bit more freedom and to cook for myself without any hassle. Luckily it didn’t take too long to move in, and my bedroom’s all nice and organised just the way I like it now!

I’m going away for another week to Devon with my parents, boyfriend and dogs on Saturday, so that should be good fun and (hopefully) relaxing.

Ciao for now!

Leave a Reply

