Eleanor’s Blog – 22 July 2014

Hey there blogfans,

Hope you’re having a good summer, I certainly am!

It started with an impromptu trip to Dubrovnik, Croatia with my friend from Uni. We spent the week swimming in clear seas, walking round the beautiful streets of the Old City and went on a day trip to neighbouring country Montenegro, somewhere I’d never even thought of going. It’s such a beautiful place and although the weather was less than perfect it was still a sight better than Manchester’s! Having said that, it’s been surprisingly sunny here for the last couple of weeks, and I’ve been busy busy busy with ambassador work in and around uni.

It was The University of Manchester’s summer open days not long ago where I could be found manning the buses to the accommodation tours. It was a really good 2 days, with thousands of prospective students and parents checking the uni out. Hopefully we made a good impression! Then it was onto SUMMER SCHOOLS!

This year I once again worked the Year 10 Wise Up summer school, aiming to highlight choices and the benefits of university to kids from the local area. They come from a range of schools, stay over in university halls, and complete mini-projects in uni to get a feel of what university life is like. Topped off with a presentation of their time at the summer school in front of their parents. At the beginning they’re usually quite reluctant and reserved, but by the end they were pleading with us to stay! I was there in a supervisory role, or as an ‘Uber Ambassador’ as I’ve worked loads of events in the past, hopefully the power didn’t go to my head! I did enjoy being in charge of a walkie-talkie rather a lot though…

Next it was on to a new event, a Headstart Summer School for year 12’s interested in studying Nuclear Physics (squeezing in some work at the pub in between). Headstart aims to facilitate STEM (science, technology, engineering and maths) activities for young people thinking about studying these subjects at universities, to gain skills and an insight into a career in these subjects. All the kids were really enthusiastic and I was extremely happy to see that the ratio was almost 50:50 boys and girls! The week included a trip to Jodrell Bank Discovery Centre as well as lab sessions and lectures.

With all that going on, I’ve just about had time to move in to my new house in Manchester and spend a bit of time with my family at home in the Peak District. I’ll need a holiday after these summer holidays!

Leave a Reply

