Katerina’s Blog – 25 February 2014

If you are a sports fan we probably spent the last two weeks doing exactly the same thing – watching the Olympics or doing something else (in my case, sitting in lectures) wishing you were watching the Olympics.

Whatever part of the world (and time zone) they take place in, I always seem to wish they were somewhere else. For example, when the events were taking place during the night (as was the case in 2010 when Vancouver was hosting the Games), I stayed up to watch them and then struggled to do anything productive the next day, dreaming about an Olympics next year that won’t require me to get up at 3 am every night.

“Be careful what you wish for” perfectly describes my feelings this time around. Even though the Games were held in Sochi and all events took place during the day (as Sochi is 4 hours ahead of the UK time wise) I still couldn’t see the majority because of lectures and various other obligations.

Rationally, I know there is no ideal time for anything and making the most out of  the opportunities I am presented with is an important skill.  However, when I’m in a situation where I really really want to do something (say watch the Olympics Opening Ceremony) and something less exciting but more important pops up preventing me from enjoying the eagerly anticipated event, I can’t help but feel a little disappointed.

Kat

I could’t help but put in a picture of one of my favourite ice skating teams – Elena Ilinykh and Nikita Katsalapov 🙂

Having said that, even on the days when I only had the BBC’s “Highlights of the Day” to survive, the Olympics still managed to give me that peculiar mixture of joy and heartbreak as I watched some of my favourite athletes rise to the occasion, whilst watching others succumb to pressure, missing the podium. Regardless, I am in awe of their dedication, passion and drive, to get to where they are in sport and in their personal lives.  Watching them striving to better themselves, defying all obstacles in their path, inspired me to exercise more, study more and generally be a better person all round.

So far so good – I spent the weekend at dance classes and Monday in the library.  There is only one question that still needs an answer – is that drive going to last longer than my New Year’s resolutions? 🙂

Lots of love,

Kat

Leave a Reply

