Katerina’s Blog – 15 January 2014

Happy New Year! 🙂

Happy New Year everyone! Here’s to hoping 2014 will bring us health, happiness, love and success!

Hope you had an amazing holiday and managed to recharge for the exam period ahead and the new semester!  As for me, I definitely had a blast – I went back to Bulgaria for the holidays and spent quite a bit of time catching up with friends and visiting family, which I needed after the (stressful) weeks leading up to Christmas.  I openly admit I did not touch a single textbook till Christmas, which I am paying for now as I need to catch up with revision, but I don’t regret it as I feel I needed the break from academia.

So, outside of fighting with my grandmothers over the quantities of food I need to be eating (just like every grandmother I’ve met, mine firmly believe I will disappear any second if I don’t consume enough food to match my own weight, which is  a constant source of arguments) and catching up with high school classmates, I wasn’t up to much, but getting up late, reading fiction and going to the cinema is my definition of a perfect holiday, so I’m happy! 🙂

However, all things must come to an end and in the beginning of January I had to fly back to Manchester, and, even worse, to exams and coursework deadlines.  Of course, a day before my flight, Murphy’s laws needed to kick in – my laptop started acting up, which, given I have two essays to hand in the first week back, wasn’t ideal as there was not enough time for me to get it fixed.  However, my brother – being the wonderful little brother he is – stepped up and volunteered his laptop for me to take to the UK while he gets mine repaired and we switch them back at Easter when I am planning on going back home again, which saved the day.  To put it in a nutshell – thanks, bro, you are the best!

Now I only need to get used to this keyboard while I finish my last two assignments for the semester and then it’s Winter Olympics time, which I am psyched about! (I am a MASSIVE Olympics fan, so I have one more reason for barely being able to wait for January to be over!)

And, inspired by Hunger Games: Catching Fire, which I saw this holiday and loved, I want to wish you the following instead of a conclusion:

Happy exam period everyone, may the odds be ever in your favour!

Leave a Reply

