Shannon’s Blog – 25 March 2014

Hey  everyone, since my last post I’ve been really busy with uni work alongside doing things in my free time. I’d not been feeling too great over the past couple of weeks, so I found myself majorly behind on a lot of my work, so I’ve had to really knuckle down to catch up. Thankfully, I’m all caught up now and I’ve even done most of my work for this week already.

I had part of my peer mentor training a couple of weeks ago, so I just have 2 hours of training left and I’ll be fully ready to be set loose on new students next year. I’m actually really looking forward to it; me and my own peer mentor haven’t really had much contact, but I’m determined that I’ll have plenty of contact with me mentees and be as helpful as possible with students making the transition to university life.

The most exciting thing I’ve done recently has got to be seeing Fall Out Boy in Birmingham. Here’s one of the many great things about my mum: she loves most of the music I do. So, she was in charge of buying the tickets and as we didn’t manage to get standing tickets for Manchester we went with Birmingham’s NIA arena instead (because let’s be honest, you can’t see Fall Out Boy and be sat down…). We travelled down to Birmingham in the morning and had a good day shopping in the Bullring where I bought 3 dresses, a skirt, a t-shirt and lots of tights (interesting, right?). I introduced my mum to Wagamama for an early dinner before we went back to the hotel to rest our feet before the concert, which was absolutely amazing. New Politics and The Pretty Reckless supported FOB, but my heart definitely belongs to the main act. They played loads of their old stuff as well as quite a few songs from their new album – overall, it was pretty perfect. Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures to post from the concert as my mum hasn’t uploaded them from her camera yet, but if there are any good ones I’ll put them on my next post!

1779751_10151968732620205_727234995_n

Apart from that, the only other thing I’ve really done was go to Factory a week or so ago. It was a really good night with great music and even better people. Fairly cheap, too. This week, I’m going with a few friends to Sound Control’s ‘Cherry’; they’re having a Fall Out Boy vs. Panic at the Disco special on Friday which is right up my street. It should be a great night, so I’ll keep you guys posted!

Leave a Reply

