Shannon’s Blog – 04 March 2014

Happy Pancake Day!

Once again, I’ve left it way too late to post my next blog, but this time I guess I have an excuse! I’ve been pretty under the weather the last couple of weeks or so. I’ve ended up falling behind on absolutely everything, including uni work and blogging. Thankfully, I’m feeling much better now (although not quite 100%), so I’ve managed to catch up on a bit of work and set some time aside for writing.

Of course, results for the first semester of my course were released last week …..and I was very pleased! I’ve managed to average out at around 71% overall, which is a 1:1 – definitely much better than I’d expected/hoped for, considering this year’s marks don’t even count towards my final degree. My results have made me a lot more relaxed about this semester, as I know now that I don’t necessarily have to ‘step it up’ and work 10 times harder to do better, which definitely relieves some stress and takes a weight off my shoulders. I hope everyone else has done as well as expected (that’s if you have your results yet)!

It was my birthday on 17th February, so I spent some time with my family and went to the AMAZING Red Hot World Buffet for the second time – I would definitely recommend giving it a go if you’ve never been before! I also had to make my OWN birthday cake because no one made/bought me one (boo hoo, and I didn’t even get any candles or have ‘happy birthday’ sung to me!) which turned out to be a disaster… I’m actually a very good cook, so I have no idea what happened there! Either way, it tasted good even if it didn’t look great. I got a few bits and bobs like books etc. for my birthday, and an IOU from my parents for a trip to Cheshire Oaks later in the year. However, I bought my T in the Park ticket (WOOOO!!!) last Friday, so my parents offered to pay for that instead of a trip to Cheshire Oaks.

As well as the festival, I’m planning on doing two 5k runs this summer – one of them is the Manchester Colour Run, and the other is the ‘Pretty Muddy’ Race for Life. I’d better get back in shape, or I’ll never manage them!

I’ve had a fairly relaxed weekend, just lazing around in bed and reading, and then going over to my friend’s flat for a few drinks on Saturday night. We spent pretty much the whole night listening to awful, cheesy music and dancing around the kitchen. It was beautiful.

I’d better get on with doing a bit more work before this evening when I’ll be enjoying my pancakes… Until next time!

Leave a Reply

