Shannon’s Blog – 12 February 2014

Hi all,

I’ve been really busy this past week, hence why I haven’t posted any sooner. Maybe it’s because we’ve had such a long holiday since the end of last semester.

Admittedly, it’s been a bit of a struggle keeping up with the demands of some of my courses so far this semester. I’m taking another course on grammar, which requires a huge amount of preparatory reading and it seems to be taking up too much time and not leaving me with enough time to fulfil the requirements of my other modules. I’ve worked out a little system now though, where I’ve set aside certain times in my weekly timetable to do work for certain courses, so hopefully this next week will run a little smoother.

Last Tuesday I went to see Ron Pope and Wakey!Wakey! with my flatmate Hana, and it was AMAZING. There was another singer, Alexz Johnson, supporting Ron Pope alongside Wakey!Wakey! She was really good, but I have to say my heart lies with W!W! Both support acts performed solo (without their accompanying band) for one reason or another, but it made the concert feel so much more intimate and enjoyable. After W!W!’s set, Michael Grubbs (the brilliant man behind the music) went back to the merch table to meet and greet fans. The queue was huge and he went backstage before I could get to meet him properly, but I did manage to sneak a quick picture with him, eeeek!

Shannon 12 Feb

Before that, I also went to a Rum Rebels event with my dad. I bought the vouchers for his birthday last year and it was booked for the 1st February. Basically, the event involved sampling around 6 different rums (the guy running it even snuck in a cheeky sample of bourbon!). He told us a little bit about how rum is made and how they’re flavoured differently, too. Bear in mind the tasting was at 12:30am and lasted for about an hour and a half… It’s safe to say that everyone was a little bit wobbly by 2pm. Oops!

Other than that, I’ve really not been up to much over the past couple of weeks. I’ll try and lead a bit more of an interesting life this week so I’ve got more news for you next time!

One comment

Leave a Reply

