Adam’s Blog – 4 February 2014

Hi everyone,

Hope you are well and have had a fantastic Christmas and New Year! The exam season at The University of Manchester has finally finished, and the campus is becoming busy again as students rush to their lectures, visit their new course tutors, and decide on proposals for their independent research projects in the library and Alan Gilbert Learning Commons.

Like Eleanor, I spent a lot of time taking advantage of the 24/7 study areas that The University of Manchester offers. Since the Learning Commons is open all night, I find it’s the perfect place to go when revising both independently and in groups. With over 400 fixed workstations, state-of-the-art breakout rooms, printing and scanning facilities, charging stations for phones and laptops, vending machines and a relaxing café, it has all the conveniences needed for productive revision or a essay writing session.

This semester, I’m taking three new modules; Shakespeare: Genre, Text and Performance, Medieval Metamorphoses, and an Introduction to Typology. Before starting my degree, I never really enjoyed Shakespeare’s plays at secondary school or sixth form, but I’ve started to appreciate his mastery after touching upon some of his work in my first-year literature modules. I had my opening lectures this week and all of my subjects seem great. Hopefully, I’ll still be enjoying them when the essay deadlines and exams are due!

As it was Chinese New Year last weekend, I went out with some friends to have a look at the celebrations that have been taking place around the city centre. The streets have been filled with lanterns and decorations to welcome The Year of the Horse, and there have been a number of cultural events happening, such as the Dragon Parade and a music group playing oriental music. Many of the shops and restaurants around China Town were offering free samples, ‘lucky’ gifts and goodies in traditional red envelopes. I managed to obtain one and received two free drinks at one of the pop-up bars! Once we had looked around the festival, we headed off for a few drinks before going to The Printworks later that night.

I’ve got a lot of reading to do for seminars this week. Hopefully the Shakespeare plays won’t be too bad!

Until next week,

Adam. 🙂

Leave a Reply

