Shannon’s Blog – 15 January 2014

Hi everyone,

Hoping everyone’s had a fantastic Christmas and caught up on some well-deserved rest!

I had a really nice break at home with my family. We didn’t actually do much during the Christmas period, but it was nice not to have to get up and go out every day and to see my family on a daily basis. Admittedly, I did no studying whatsoever before the New Year, which was probably a bad move, but I think I just needed that time to recuperate in time for the study period.

I came back to my student accommodation a week early to make a start on revision to find that my radiator was leaking! I spent a very cold 3 nights in my room until it was finally fixed and thankfully it’s nice and toasty now. Most of my flatmates didn’t get back until this weekend just gone, so I pretty much spent the week in solitary confinement, except for when I ventured out to go to the learning commons or the library.

It was really surprising how busy the library and the learning commons were last week as I’d assumed most people wouldn’t be back until the following week, but it was already packed and finding a seat proved pretty difficult. I’ve now resorted to studying in my room  as I think I actually concentrate better when I’m completely on my own.

My friend Hana and I went out for a nice ‘homecoming’ drink on Saturday night at The Font – our usual spot, of course! What could be better than a nice catch up over £2 cocktails? Two of our other flatmates have now gone back over to the US (they were only studying here for a semester) so it feels pretty weird not having them around. It’s safe to say we’re missing them a lot already!

I had my first exam yesterday for ‘An Introduction to Phonetics and Phonology’… It definitely wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be and I actually think it went pretty well! My next exam is for ‘Introducing English Grammar’ and that’s tomorrow, so I’m going to be cutting this post a little short so I can get on with studying for that.

There will be more to come when I’ve got more time and more to say.

Good luck with all of your exams!

One comment

Leave a Reply

