Eleanor’s Blog – 09 January 2014

Happy new year!

I hope you all had a lovely holiday season and are looking forward to some exciting things in 2014.

I spent my Christmas at home with my family, and I am very grateful for all my beautiful presents (mostly practical) including a new cake tin, a new set of pans and some pegs for my washing. However, it has encouraged distractions from revision, I’ve been cooking and making cakes (not so much washing clothes…) and with exams starting next week it’s not a good time! I’m never very good at staying focused and motivated. It usually takes me an entire day to read a lecture slide as I get so distracted by Facebook, iplayer, reading online articles and playing online quizzes! It’s good to have breaks and rewards but I end up having had a break for the entire day!

I’ve also been working at the pub rather a lot whilst I’ve been home, and work is where I found myself on New Year’s Eve, behind the bar dressed as a cat serving a lot of people in good and not so good  fancy dress costumes. Despite the busy night and the fact I’ve only worked behind the bar once before (the phrase ‘baptism of fire’ was used far too often for my liking) it ended up being quite enjoyable and I was being paid double so at least there’s that!

Eleanor 09-01-14

The new year has got me thinking about resolutions, it’s not something I’ve ever really done before as I know that saying I can never eat chocolate again or that I’m going to get up at 6am every day and go on a run just isn’t going to work. I’ve heard that only 40% of people who choose new years resolutions keep them for 6 months and most people drop them by the 9th January. However this year, I’ve been thinking about becoming a vegetarian for my resolution! Not straight away, it would be a bit tricky at home with my family as we’ve had a lot of gatherings and big dinners over the past couple of weeks with it being Christmas, but when I go back to uni. I’ve thought about it before but again, willpower, I’m too fond of a nice bacon butty or a greasy kebab! I don’t eat meat often at uni as it’s cheaper not to, so it wouldn’t be too much of a step to cut it out completely. Not eating meat is healthier, cheaper, better for the environment and obviously better for the welfare of animals! So this is the challenge I am setting myself, how hard is it for a long time meat eater but also massive animal lover to become vegetarian?

I’ll keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

