Shannon’s blog – 4 November 2013

Hi guys!

So sorry I haven’t posted in a while, been unbelievably busy – as usual! At least that means I’ve got quite a bit to catch you all up on.

Last week I went to my first feedback session for the Creative Writing society, which was really interesting actually. I hadn’t had time to write anything of my own to take along for feedback, but a couple of people did, so we got a chance to read others’ work and give them some constructive criticism. I’m definitely hoping to take some of my own work to the next feedback session as all the advice given at the last one seemed really helpful to the writers.

Also, speaking of writing, we are officially in NaNoWriMo (that’s National Novel Writing Month)! The idea is to write 50,000 words in November alone, and then spend the other 11 months leading up to next November editing and bulking up your novel. I’d actually never heard of NaNoWriMo up until about a month ago when my friend from the society told me about it, but I’m definitely giving it a go. I’ve got a pretty good idea of what I’m going to write about, so let’s just hope I don’t run out of steam!

Last Thursday I went to Marky Ramone’s Blitzkrieg at Academy 2 – yes, it was actually Marky Ramone and yes, Andrew W. K. did do the vocals! Although I don’t often listen to bands like The Ramones, it was such an amazing gig and definitely worth the experience. I went with my dad (a hardcore Ramones fan, guys) and an old family friend came along with his two sons, so it was nice to catch up with the three of them as well.

S1
The following night I went with the Literature society to see an all-black revival of All My Sons at the Royal Exchange theatre. I’d previously studied the play (written by Arthur Miller) in my first year of college, but it absolutely did not take away from any of the magic.

S2
I’d never actually been to the Royal Exchange before, but it’s really lovely with a circular stage in the centre of the seats. Even if you end up sat on the back row, I think you’d still get a pretty good view of the stage. For obvious reasons, I didn’t take any pictures while the play was going on, but I did get a couple of snaps of the set before it started.
S3That’s really the extent of interesting stuff I’ve been doing; I’ve spent the whole of this week writing my essay and doing other homework/catch up work for next week when we’re back in for lectures. I did go to the Font on Monday, though. I met up with a friend from the Creative Society and had a really nice night with a few drinks and good conversation. I definitely regretted the ‘few drinks’ though…

Anyway, now I’ve brought you guys up to date I’d better get on with doing some more work.

Leave a Reply

