Shannon’s blog – 15 October 2013

Hi guys,

It’s been quite a stressful week for me what with breaking up with my boyfriend and my grandma falling ill. I know I’m only 30 minutes away from home, but finding the time to visit and see how she is has proved pretty difficult as I’ve had so much work to do. Luckily, I’ve managed to stay on top of my work, and my grandma came home from hospital yesterday! It’s been a godsend having my friends to talk to about everything going on, and rest assured that I am back to my usual chirpy self!

Anyway, here’s everything else I’ve been up to this week.

Saturday night, I went to a party with my friend Tom, but we started off in Oak House for a few drinks with some of my flat mate Hana’s friends. I met a few people from Manchester Metropolitan doing a similar course to me at the party which was interesting, and it was a really good night overall!1382859_10151957685454379_152490461_nThere was another social for the Creative Writing Society on Tuesday, too, which took place at Matt & Phred’s in the Northern Quarter. It’s a jazz bar, so the atmosphere is really nice and chilled out, and I think there’s live jazz music most nights. A friend of mine said it’s quite nice just to go there to write when he’s stuck for inspiration, so I think I’ll have to give that try sometime soon! The social was really nice, and I met loads more people from the society.

That’s really the extent of my ‘going out’ this week; other than all of that, I’ve been to a few university-related events such as the volunteering fair, where I signed up for Hitch (a hitch-hike to either Croatia or Morocco to raise money for Link Community Development) and also got involved in a tutoring programme for GCSE students (of course, I’ll be tutoring in English!).

Although it’s pretty early in the year to be thinking about my second year at university, I’ve also been looking into studying abroad for a semester next year. Don’t worry, I’m not planning too far ahead – the deadline for worldwide applications is in December! Ideally, I’d like to do a semester at the University of Toronto, but it’s recommended that applicants choose 5 universities in case their first choice is in high demand, so I’ll have to spend a bit of time looking at my other options.

As promised in my last blog, I found out the name of the restaurant I took my family to – it’s called Lahori Shahenshah, and it’s opposite Kansas Chicken on the Curry Mile. It’s great quality food (nice and cheap, too, if you go for the £9 deal!), and the staff are really friendly.

I hope everyone has a lovely week, ciao for now!

2 comments

  1. Hi Shannon,

    I am a mature student (29) hoping to return to education in September 2014 to study BSc Speech and Language Therapy at The University of Manchester. I have been reading your blog and find it very interesting. I hoping that you would be kind enough to email me as I have a few questions I would like to ask you (which I would rather not post on this blog). I was unable to attend the open day on 5th October 2013 so any advice or help would be very much appreciated. I am not sure how this blogging works but I am uncomfortable making my email public, is there any way round this?

    Many Thanks, 🙂

    1. Hello,
      Thank you for your enquiry. It would be best to contact ug-admissions@manchester.ac.uk who can help you with your queries. For more information about the BSc Speech and Language Therapy please see: http://www.manchester.ac.uk/undergraduate/courses/search2014/atoz/00662/speech-and-language-therapy-4-years-bsc/. The link includes information about the course, entry requirements and the application/selection process. If you would like to contact the School’s admissions office, you can find contact details listed under the ‘fact file’ tab. The University also offers guided visits around campus for those who were unable to attend an open day. The guided visits take place on Wednesday afternoons, for more information and to see the schedule please see: http://www.manchester.ac.uk/undergraduate/opendays/other-visits/.
      I hope this helps!
      Thank you.

Leave a Reply

