Shannon’s blog – 27 September 2013

Hello again!

I hope everyone’s settled into student life after a hectic couple of weeks.

I’ve really enjoyed my first (real) week at University, getting to see what the lectures and seminars are like and meeting my tutors. There’s definitely lots of reading to be done on my course, which doesn’t actually leave much time at the moment for me to be doing other things – but rest assured, I have in fact been doing other things other than just studying!

Last week me and a couple of friends went to ‘A Night At The Museum’, which was a chance to see Manchester Museum at night time – at least I can tick that on off my list! It turned out to be quite a short night, so I took my friends to The Font in Fallowfield (being a local, I know where to go for cheap drinks!) and had a couple of cocktails and a laugh.
shannonLiving next to the Curry Mile has its perks too – me and the girls from my flat went out on Saturday for a curry (I can’t for the life of me remember the name of the restaurant) which was absolutely divine, AND they did a student £9 deal including poppadoms, curry and rice or naan. I’m going again this Sunday with my family so I’ll find out the name and put it in my next blog as I’d definitely recommend it.

I went to my first Creative Writing society social yesterday, which was actually a bookswap amongst other things. I met loads of new people with the same interests as me which was great, and I got a nice new book to read (although when I’m going to find the time to read it is beyond me). Unfortunately I missed the first socials for the Literature and German societies, but I’m sure there’ll be plenty more to come!

My first German class was on Wednesday, too. I’m half German, but can’t speak the language, go figure. But anyway, the class was good and I’m sure I’ll be able to speak German with plenty of practice very soon, especially with the help of my German family!

I haven’t really got much more to say for the moment, so that’s it from me.

Have a good weekend everyone!

One comment

Leave a Reply

