Eleanor’s blog – 29 July 2013

Hi all,

Hope you’re having a lovely summer or winter or basically a lovely July whatever the weather where you are.

DSCF1108I’ve just returned home after a brilliant few days in Budapest, in Hungary where it was even hotter than here!

My boyfriend and I went for 3 nights after finding quite a cheap deal online, it ended up costing us about 300 quid including flights and a 4*hotel! Granted we later found out our hotel was next door to a prison, but that didn’t seem to cause too much trouble…

DSCF1125I had a really nice time just sightseeing, shopping (although not that Jack, my boyfriend enjoyed the shopping too much…), going to bars and eating some lovely food. We were quite sad to come home! Budapest has a lot of stunning architecture and monuments and was a really beautiful city. Prices for a lot of things are rather a lot cheaper than here in the UK as well which meant it was perfect for my student budget! We found loads of cool bars in the evenings and a few markets and tonnes of shops in the day times, so basically my perfect itinerary!

DSCF1089Hungarian is not really related to many European languages so talking to people and getting ourselves understood proved to be a little bit of a struggle. Knowing some Hungarian would have been extremely useful on the last day when our taxi driver took us to the train station instead of the airport!

I’ve also waved my brother goodbye this week as he embarks on a backpacking trip around Canada and the USA for 5 weeks, I wish him the best of luck! He finished his degree in 2012 and has since been working at a high school in Manchester as a teaching assistant. Now it’s the summer holidays, he’s off staying in hostels and going on train journeys and just making me very jealous in general. Then in September he’s off to Oxford University to do his teacher training, so proud! I’ve already told him I expect many presents and postcards from his 5 weeks abroad 😀

Leave a Reply

