Eleanor’s blog – 22 May

Hi everyone,

It’s been a crazy couple of weeks but I’ve just got one exam to go!

Since my last post I’ve submitted an assignment, done endless revision, sat 2 exams, completed my whole year portfolio, took part in my driving teacher’s check test, and PASSED MY DRIVING TEST! At last! My lessons had been going a lot slower trying to juggle going home for lessons and uni, so it’s taken me a bit longer than most people to learn to drive. But so pleased to have passed first time!

University wise, it’s been really busy as it’s exam time. I also had a mad panic to finish my portfolio, a file documenting everything I did on placement, in preparation for it and afterwards. I, stupidly, instead of doing this straight after placement in November when it would have been fresh in my head, left it until 2 weeks ago to start it…

…To START writing it.
Oh dear.

Needless to say, it involved a lot of speed writing and reams and reams of printing. Thankfully, I had a lot of resources in note form which I did on placement that I was able to copy up. I would not recommend to ANYONE to leave a piece of work so last minute, it’s never going to be your best work and is not worth the sleepless nights!

Now I’ve finished lectures and handed everything in for the rest of the year, it’s just been concentration on revision- as I mentioned in my last post I’ve come home from uni to revise  as it’s a lot more peaceful (and clean). There are countless places on campus to work and revise, including the library which has different zones for silence, quiet and group work, as well as the brand new Alan Gilbert Learning Commons, amongst many many others.

My last exam is tomorrow, and then it’s summer! The exam period for the University of Manchester runs for another couple of weeks, into the start of June, but us SLTs have had all our exams quite close together. To celebrate the end of exams I’ll be going to see an amazing band called Streetlight Manifesto, who have vowed never to tour again, so it should be pretty special!

Back to revision now though, see you on the other side!

Leave a Reply

