Eleanor’s Blog – 6 November

Hello again!

I’ve had a busy couple of weeks, with getting back in the Uni routine. Halloween was this week, and, unlike last year, I managed to go out this time! My lovely friend had a party at his flat, so me and my housemate Ali attended. Literally everyone there had dressed up as some sort of zombie complete with fake blood. What did me and Ali go as? Glitter. We looked a bit out of place but hey, we had a good time!

It’s really good to not be on placement and have time to see my friends again. It also means I have more time to spend in my house, which, I’ve noticed, has become an absolute mess. I live with 5 other people, including the 3 messiest boys in the entire world. Their recent untidy efforts have included leaving a half eaten pie in the living room for 2 weeks, some unopened yoghurts on the sofa, a bottle filled with a mixture of Coca-Cola and water covered in flour in the kitchen, and leaving a bunch of bananas on the steps in the back garden until they went rotten. No matter how much we try to clean they somehow manage to make a mess again seconds later. Here’s a picture of the kitchen in its typical state.

 

 

 

 

 

The other girls and I have decided to wage war and reclaim our house! It can be hard living with others when everyone has different ideas and levels of tidiness but its best to get it sorted now than wait a couple of months and start hating them for it. It’s our house too, so we should be able to have it how we want!

Last week, I worked as a student ambassador at a very special event at the University, called the Foundation Day. It was an honorary degree ceremony for famous and influential people to get recognition of their work by being awarded an honorary degree from the University – and it was really interesting! Recipients of the degrees included Mick Hucknall from the band Simply Red, (I’ll have to admit I’m a bit young to really know who he is), Sir Philip Craven, the President of the International Paralympic Committee, and the physicist Professor Peter Higgs who I was really excited to possibly meet! Unfortunately, Peter Higgs was ill and so couldn’t attend the ceremony, but it was still good. My job was basically just showing people to their seats, but I got to wear special robes like I was graduating. To be honest, I was most excited to wear the robes because I felt like Hermione from Harry Potter. As you do.

Yesterday was of course bonfire night, and so the 3 girls of the house went to the big fireworks display in Platt Fields Park in Fallowfield, not far away from the University. The fireworks were amaaaaaaazing – my favourite was one that when it exploded made a pink heart shape in the sky – and afterwards a big bonfire was lit.

There was also a fair and loads of food stalls, and afterwards we got back to our nice warm (if not messy) house to have hot chocolate and play with sparklers in the garden. I of course pretended mine was a wand and I was Hermione from Harry Potter.

Leave a Reply

