Adam’s Blog – 7 September

Hi there, readers of The University of Manchester’s student blog. I’m Adam, and for the first year of my degree I’ll be living within Whitworth Park; one of the larger halls of residence owned by UoM. I’m hoping that in the blog posts that are to come, I’ll be able to record events that happen throughout my year, and outline what being a student at The University of Manchester is like. (As well as providing an interesting and entertaining read!)

At university, I am going to be studying English Literature and Linguistics on a three-year joint honours programme.  I studied both literature and language at A-level and decided to take a course that would blend the creative side of literature with the scientific and theoretical aspects of linguistics.

I had previously taken part in the Manchester Access Programme (MAP) at the university before accepting my firm place. The MAP included a variety of activities that were designed to offer prospective students a taster of what studying at Higher Education level is like; tutorials on how to reference and tours of the campus (such as the Main University Library and University Place) were given to all attendants to help familiarise us with the institution’s layout, before we were assigned a short academic project to complete. The Manchester Access Programme also allowed me to meet number of students from the Faculty of Humanities that I am to be part of. Hopefully, I won’t be alone on the first day!

I’m really looking forward to it! There’s just over a week to go before I move in – just enough time to learn how to cook, clean, wash and iron!

The following is a list of my thoughts from A-level results week – I’m sure that many GCSE and AS level students who have just received their grades can relate to this! 🙂

August 16th – The Dreaded And Long-Awaited Results’ Day!

Today’s the day. After two years of solid revision, copious amounts of essays, seven years’ worth of practise exam papers and a barrage of mild panic attacks before entering exam rooms, I’ve finally found out that it’s all been worth it.

I’m in! 🙂

I have been accepted by The University of Manchester to study English Literature and Linguistics, and even now, four hours after opening my results envelope, I’m still grinning from ear to ear. I achieved an A* in English Language, an A in English Literature, two Bs in ICT and the AQA Baccalaureate, as well as a merit for my Extended Project Qualification. Unfortunately, I just missed the A* bracket on my English Literature exam by a single mark! (damn!) Nevertheless, I’ve gained an unconditional place in Uni to study what I love! The next chapter in my education and my life begins. I’m slightly apprehensive about moving away from home; I’ve chosen to live at a university hall called Whitworth Park, primarily because it’s the closest to the Samuel Alexander Building where most of my linguistic classes will be held. (I can savour those extra few, golden minutes in bed!) I’ve never lived away from my parents before, and have never been in a position where I have needed to fend for myself. There’s definitely a lot for me to learn in a short space of time – I’m due to move out in just under four weeks, and I still don’t know how to operate hardly any household appliances. (Even my attempts at making toast tend to go disastrously wrong!)

I’m somewhat nervous about making friends, but I’m sure everyone will be amazing. As my sixth form college was an extension of my high school, I’ve been with the same group of people for the past few years without being thrust into a position where I’ve not known everybody. It’s going to be strange to not see some of my friends five days a week, but I’m sure we’ll still stay in contact with each other – with technologies like Skype, Twitter and mobile phones, it’s so easy to arrange to meet up! Thankfully, a number of my friends who are taking the English Literature and Linguistics course have also acquired places at The University of Manchester – many of which I have met through the Manchester Access Programme – so I’ll definitely know a few faces when I arrive on the 13th!

I can’t wait! Three weeks seems like such a long time to wait, but I’m sure it will fly by. I’ve started arranging my books and stationary already, and half of my clothes are packed, ironed and ready to wear. (…I’m excited?) I know that I’ve made the right choice with The University of Manchester, and can’t wait until I’m sampling both the city life and the many social and personal development activities that UoM’s many societies have to offer. Bring on the fabled Welcome Week! 🙂

3 comments

  1. Hi Meaghan,
    Thanks a lot for the welcome to the LEL school. I’ve only been at the university for a week, but I can already tell that I’m going to really enjoy my time at UoM! 🙂
    ..And hi again Jenny! I’ll see you at the Introduction to Grammar lecture tomorrow! 🙂

Leave a Reply

