Eleanor’s Blog – 29 March

Hello again! It’s the Easter Holidays which means I’ll be back to Derbyshire, seeing all my friends and family. I have been spending quite a lot of time there anyway with my mum moving house, but it’ll be good to see my friends who’ll be back from their universities too and spend some time in the hills. With this lovely weather as well! I’ve been spending a lot of time with my friends, catching up and just sitting around in fields. Quite a change from Manchester life! I’m glad to have a bit of a rest, from lectures but also from having to do my own washing and cooking, thanks mum! I’ve not got a lot planned for the holidays, just got a couple of essays to be getting along with, and some revision.

It’s not all work though, my friends and I are also planning a trip walking in the Lake District. It may not sound too exciting, but I’m looking forward to it. We’re getting the train there and back, and staying at campsites around Windermere, so it won’t be as expensive as another holiday might be. I love walking as well, something I don’t get that much chance to do in Manchester. Not sure how well I’ll be able to do after 7 months of eating mostly only toast and cereal…maybe I should start cooking a bit better for myself. I’ve also been helping out my grandma with her gardening, it was hard work! All I did was dig a few weeds out and cut some branches and I was shattered, I should probably start doing more exercise. There’s loads of gyms and sport centres around the university that are cheap for students…something I think I should look into when I get back!

Until then though, have a good Easter and I’ll be back in a couple of weeks 🙂

Eleanor xxx

5 comments

  1. Hi Eleanor!

    Just wanted to say that I am a huge fan of your blog and have been reading it every week for a few months now because I have a conditional offer from the University of Manchester to start Speech and Language Therapy in September!
    I am so excited for the course, and have found your blog soooo useful! I’m from Ireland but I attend a British school out here in the Middle East, so as you can imagine, I haven’t had many opportunities to visit any open days at the UoM. Since I have been living out here for so long, I have a few questions about life at th UoM, so I was hoping, if you had any free time, you could email me back and answer these questions if it isn’t an inconvenience 😀
    I was thinking for applying for accommodation at Fallowfield Campus, do you know what it’s like and if it’s very far from the university?
    Also, my mum wanted me to ask how much allowance I would need per week to buy food and go out and stuff, cos we’re not quite sure?
    Oh and I was wondering if you got the NHS funding for the course, as I heard that I could apply for a bursary?
    Thanks so much!! I hope you have a fab easter! 😀

    Emma Grimes
    Year 13 Student, Abu Dhabi

    1. Hi Emma, so glad you’ve applied to Manchester and thanks for your questions. Fallowfield is a couple of miles away from the main campus, just up the road and so a short bus journey away. It’s the busiest bus route in Europe (a fact I seem to hear from a different person every week!) so it’s always just a few minutes away. There’s loads of student halls in Fallowfield and it’s a really fun place to be. 🙂 With regard to money, it really depends on how much you go out and what you buy. I probably spend about £200 a month (I don’t know whether that’s just me spending loads though because I’ve not really asked anyone else!) which covers things like food, train/bus fare, gig tickets, buying an item of clothing (or two…), my mobile phone bill, and going out. It’s a lot more with rent on top of that as well. You’d probably spend more money earlier on in the year though as people tend to have more nights out 🙂
      Also, here’s a link to the NHS bursary website http://www.nhsbsa.nhs.uk/Students/816.aspx which is income assessed. The money from that has really helped me out with living costs!
      Hope my answers have helped a little bit, good luck with your results and hopefully see you around Manchester next year!
      Eleanor

      1. Thanks so much for answering my questions! I can’t wait to start in September 😀
        Good luck with you course, and hopefully I’ll see you in Manchester!
        Emma

  2. Hello there I am so glad I found your website, I really found you by mistake, while I was searching on Bing for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a remarkable post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the superb work. Nice One!

  3. I just wanted to say that I am a huge fan of your blog and have been reading it every week for a few months now because I have a conditional offer from the University of Manchester to start Speech and Language Therapy in September! I am so excited for the course, and have found your blog soooo useful!

Leave a Reply

