Eleanor’s Blog – 4 January 2012

Happy new year!

I hope everyone has had a wonderful Christmas break. I’ve had a nice few weeks off, myself!

The holidays have been spent seeing my friends and family, it felt really weird coming back to Derbyshire after living in Manchester since September, but I soon got back into proper home life again. Feels like I’ve never been away, although I’m not too sure whether that’s a good thing or not…

The week before Christmas I spent settling back in, wrapping presents and eating way too much! Although I’m not religious, on the 21st of December I went to a Christmas Carol Service with my family at the local church, which really got me feeling all warm and festive, despite the icy conditions outside!

Christmas this year was a quiet one, I was pretty pleased with my presents though- including a sandwich toaster for my flat back in Manchester. It was on standby all day seeing as I was the one making Christmas dinner, but it wasn’t a complete disaster, some of it was a bit cold but oh well. As well as a sandwich toaster, I got a bit of money for Christmas so I braved the sales in Manchester, and now I’ve got even more lovely new clothes, probably enough to start my own shop.

I saw my friends again New Year’s Eve, a few of us spent it at my friend’s house having a pyjama party- everyone else turned up in ordinary pyjamas, but not me! I was there chillin’ in a victorian-style nightdress…it seemed a good idea at the time. Being the cool kid I am, no party would be complete without spending some quality time with the household’s cat, I find there are incresing numbers of photos just like this one with various different cats. Please tell me I’m not alone in my actions!

Being back at home meant I could also go back to the pub I work at, I’d forgotten what hard work washing up is, and with it being a busy period as well I can still barely walk. Perhaps I should make it my New Year’s Resolution to start doing a bit more exercise.

As I said in my last post, my friends and I came out to Manchester for one night, going to 42s. I was really glad of having my flat to crash at overnight! I didn’t wake up til about half 12 the next day- with my brother back from his third year Uni in Swansea for Christmas and my Step-dad and step-sister having moved in since he’s been gone, there’s more people than beds in my house so I’ve been sleeping on the sofa the whole time I’ve been back. Tired to say the least!

I’m back in Manchester next week, with my exams starting on the 17th and helping out at year 8/9 conference days as a Student Ambassador, I should be pretty busy. It’s fair to say I’ve not done as much work as I should have been doing over the holidays but I’m sure I’m not alone in that. No idea how I’m going to bring all my stuff back on the train, including my new presents!

Thanks for all your comments and questions as well, everyone, really sorry if I’m late getting back to you but I try my best 🙂

Leave a Reply

