Eleanor’s blog – 14 December 2011

Christmas is rapidly approaching, and, despite the amazing Christmas markets, I’m yet to buy any presents…oops!

It might be because I’ve just not had the time, with a few deadlines and a mock exam coming up right before the Christmas break, I’ve barely had chance to sit down. When my time wasn’t spent frantically typing or trawling the internet for references, I’ve had pretty busy evenings too.

Friday night was spent with my old flatmates from my old halls, Dalton Ellis, and was the first time I’d seen them in a long time! We had a good night at Propaganda, at The Ritz, near Oxford Road station. I was there again on Saturday night too, with yet another gig, this time someone vaguely famous; The Drums. The tickets were actually free, and we were on the guestlist as my friend had built up loads of HMV points, HMV being the owners of the Ritz. It’s kind of like supermarket clubcard points (also a good idea to collect) but instead of half price cheese or 40p off shampoo, buying things at HMV can earn you points to do awesome stuff for free! Thank you to my friend Ali for the ticket! 🙂

I also saw a friend from home at the weekend, as he’s finished Uni already (I didn’t realise it was SO close to Christmas) and so came to visit for the day. We attempted Christmas shopping, but the Arndale Centre was absolutely packed with people who’d had the same idea…I think I might resort to internet shopping.

The rest of the weekend was spent doing yet more work, and on Monday it was back to seeing the Dalton Ellis lot. Returning to Dalton Ellis feels weird (not least because I have to ring the doorbell now) but it’s been good to see them all again. Spent the evening how we used to there- playing cards and laughing at rubbish jokes. I was back there again on Tuesday though (they just can’t keep me away now!) to make mince pies and sing loudly to Christmas songs with my friend Jenny. They ended up more like some kind of scone than mince pies, but they still tasted good!

Tuesday night was the Medics’ Panto which I bought a ticket for, as a couple of my friends were in the cast. It was absolutely hilarious, with lots of bad puns, lots of boys wearing dresses and lots of girls wearing..ahem…not much at all. It was really good, but I wouldn’t recommend taking children!

I left feeling thoroughly in the Christmas spirit…shame I went straight home to carry on with an essay rather than join everyone at the after party 😦 Oh well, there will be plenty of time for parties in the Christmas holidays which are just 3 days away!

One comment

  1. Great work! That is the kind of information that are supposed to be shared across the internet. Shame on the search engines for not positioning this submit upper! Come on over and seek advice from my site . Thank you =)

Leave a Reply

