Eleanor’s blog – 9 December 2011

It’s December which means it’s officially Christmas. Okay well no, it doesn’t, but it almost is! Just a couple of weeks to go before the Christmas holidays and everyone (including me) is in a mad rush to get stuff finished before then. So apologies for the particularly late update this week! I’ve had a quiet week staying in mostly or chilling with friends, as I desperately need to get some work done. Plus, it’s absolutely freezing outside and I need to save money.

Seeing as Movember was coming to a close (no-shave November; guys hold off shaving their upper lip for the entire month for charity) it seemed fitting to spent Tuesday night at Moustache, at Joshua Brooks. It’s a good night out, and it’s just the right size as well- not too big but not too small so you know everyone in the room.

In these arctic conditions (well okay it’s just been raining a lot but it’s WELL cold) I have come to appreciate the wonder that is the wooly jumper. My grandma recently gave me some wool (and some apples, with which I made a beautiful apple and lemon curd crumble) because she’s an amazing old woman and I’m cool enough to be excited at the gift of wool. So, on a rainy sunday afternoon I embarked on a bit of crocheting, something I’ve never done before, and was so proud of myself I had to share it with you! It’s pretty pointless because I have no idea how to join it together to make anything bigger than this, let alone a jumper, but I personally thought it was a bit of an achievement.

I did brave the cold a little bit this week, seeing visiting friends from home. They brought their BMXs with them, so we spent a bit of time at a skatepark called Projekts, near Piccadilly Station. I’d never been there before (granted, I’ve had no need to go) but it’s great if you’re into skating or riding. It’s underneath a huge bridge, giving it a bit of rain cover and making it look pretty cool as well. Not that I have any clue what I’m on about on the subject of BMXs, I’m more the crocheting type…

Saturday night was my on-campus bar’s christmas party, a night of cheesy christmas songs, with a special appearance from Santa himself, with early presents for all us good boys and girls who live at Whitworth Park. There was also a competition to win a scooter (maybe then I could have ridden it at Projekts, I doubt it somehow) which we were all absolutely gutted to loose. The winner did graciously offer me a lift on the back though which I was more than happy to accept!

Next week is a busy one, as usual!

3 comments

  1. Hi! I’ve been reading your blog since I found it about a month ago after browsing the Manchester Uni website…it’s fab to get a glimpse of the Uni/Manchester from a student perspective! 🙂 I’m applying for Speech & Language Therapy for 2012 entry and was just wondering how you’re liking the course so far? ..And if you don’t mind me asking, what grades did you get in your A levels? 🙂 Oohh also, is Manchester expensive to get around, i.e. – do you have to pay for a bus everywhere you go? 🙂 haha, sorry about all of the questions, I just want to hear from a student about the course. Thanks, Natasha 🙂

    1. Hi Natasha! Ooh I’m really glad you’re applying for SLT at Manchester next year, so far I really love it. It’s pretty intense, a bit annoying in the first few weeks when everyone else has loads of time to go out and you’ve got a full day of lectures to worry about- but it’s not as bad as it seems and I don’t feel like I’ve missed out on any nights out or anything. I got 3 As at A Level, apparently more people passed their exams than the SLT Admissions were expecting so we have a bigger class than ever before! It’s a lot of hard work but it’s all interesting stuff, all the staff know what they’re talking about and a lot of support is available.

      Personally, I just walk everywhere, the University campus is only about a 25 minute walk from the town centre. I live in the city campus but most people who live in Fallowfield get the bus, it’s not too bad for cost, you can buy a bus pass that lasts the whole year for about £180. On the whole I’d say Manchester is a really cheap city, especially compared to others further south.

      Hope that’s answered your questions, and hope to see you around Manchester next year! 🙂

      1. Thank you, that was really helpful. Well done on your results! You’ve really put my mind at ease about the transport and things…when I visited for the open day, it was pretty overwhelming due to the sheer size of Manchester..then I visited the city again and felt such a great vibe, I love it! 🙂 Is there plenty of availability for jobs in Manchester…or would you say a job combined with the hard work of the degree is too much to take on? Would you advise trying to get accomodation in the city campus then? Also, have you had any clinical placements yet? haha, thanks again..and sorry for being such a nuisance! 🙂

Leave a Reply

